Introduction to the Chakras

There comes a time, sooner or later, that Chakras are made mention in just about every yoga class. The Chakra system features prominently in Hindu and Buddhist traditions and variations of the same idea are mentioned throughout other schools of thought. The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’ or ‘turning’. The Chakras are energy centres within the subtle, or non-physical, body, that run along the midline of the physical body. An imbalance of the mind, body or spirit can be attributed to energy blockages associated with the chakras. The Chakras are the points at which the nadiis meet within the subtle body. The nadiis are the channels along which energy, or life force, moves.

Of the many chakras within the the subtle body, there are seven major ones. Each of these chakras governs different aspects of the Self – physiological, psychological and spiritual. These are, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head;

Muladhara – Also known as the Root Chakra, Muladhara is the foundation of the energy body. It is located at the base of the spine near the perineum, and is associated with our sense of security, the satisfying of basic needs, relationships and self esteem.

Svadhishthana – This is the Sacral Chakra, it is located at the coccyx. It is linked to issues surrounding morals, guilt, blame, shame, self-indulgence, and on a physical level, reproduction.

Manipura – Also known as the Solar Plexus Chakra, this chakra is all about who you are. It is the willpower centre, and is related to self esteem and self-worth, discipline, and confidence.

Anahata – The Heart Chakra is the seat of love and compassion. It is located at the heart, and is very much our healing centre.

Vishuddha – Also known as the Throat Chakra, Vishuddha is associated with communication and expressing your authentic voice, originality and expressing your own truth.

Ajna – This is Third Eye. The Ajna Chakra is related to psychic abilities and the gift of this chakra is being able to see the internal and the external, and accessing our inner guidance.

Sahasrara – The Crown Chakra. Sahasrara is the last chakra, and connects the Self to the Universe and the Divine, whatever that may mean to you.

Keep an eye on Rachel’s blog Cosmic Experience, over the next few weeks she will provide deeper insight into each chakra along with some yogic practices to help with facilitating a better flow of energy through the chakras.


Recent Posts

Recent Comments




Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *